May. 05, 2020

Rice Architecture students were honored for their achievements at the school’s annual awards ceremony, held virtually this year on May 4.

The William Ward Watkin Traveling Fellowship, given for the best senior designs in the spring 2020 semester, went to Anna Fritz (first place), Rita Xiong (first place), Shree Kale (second place), Taylor Li, (second place), Stephanie Tyler (third place), and Beril Uzmen (third place). 

The Margaret Everson-Fossi Traveling Fellowship Prize, given for the best design projects in the advanced option studios during the academic year, went to Andrew Bertics and Kohen Hudson; Brendan Carr; Emilia Cavallaro and Yao Wang; Lara Hansmann and Hannah Wang; Jenny Heon, Kristi Maulding, and Ashley Whitesides; Kejia Lu and Minhui Zhou; Sarah Lumelsky, Peiyi (Steve) Hu, and Kalyani Bhatt; Alexandra Oetzel and Alfred Wei; and John-Alexander Rudd.

The William D. Darden Thesis Award, given to an M.Arch. candidate on the basis of an outstanding thesis, went to Tiffany Xu.

This year, the newly named Rice Design Alliance Houston Design Research Grant, generously supported by The Mitsui U.S.A. Foundation, awarded funds to a faculty and a student winner from a national applicant pool, who are pursuing research on Houston-specific urban conditions that need urgent attention. This year’s theme asked applicants to focus on the topic of Housing. The winners were Rice Architecture alumnus De Peter Yi (M.Arch. ‘14), lecturer, Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, for the Faculty category, and Rice Architecture student team members Anna Fritz, Shree Kale, and Edward Liew, for the Student category. An Honorable Mention in the Student category was awarded to Rice Architecture students Sebastian Lopez and Lene Sollie, thanks to the generosity and vision of Carrie A. and Jonathan H. Brinsden.

Additional awards were given to the graduate and undergraduate students named below.

Graduate Winners

Alpha Rho Chi Medal: Jack Murphy. 

Anderson Todd Award: Alexander Burran and Jessica LaBarbera.  

Brett Michael Detamore Award in Architecture: Rylie Davis and Siobhan Finlay. 

Gene Hackerman Scholarship: Jianing Cui and Lene Sollie.

Guy Hagstette Award: Sebastian Lopez and Lindsey Chambers.     

H. Russell Pitman Graduate Fellowship in Architecture: Carrie Li, Sebastian Lopez, and Wenqiang Jian.

Henry Adams (AIA) Graduate Medal: Rose Wilkowski.       

John Crowder Traveling Fellowship: Alfred Wei, Tian Liu, and Jeremy Harrienger.

John T. Mitchell Traveling Fellowship: Kati Gullick, Beixi Zhu, and Jared Widner.  

Mary Ellen Hale Lovett Traveling Fellowship: Lindsey Chambers, Rylie Davis, Estefania Barajas, and Jianing Cui.

Mildred Crocker Staff Award: Will Sun.

Morris R. Pitman Award in Architecture: Will Sun, Lene Sollie, Wanting Zhou, and Dani Latif.     

Tau Sigma Delta: Rose Wilkowski, Leyuan Li, Xi Luo, Jack Murphy, Tiffany Xu, and Shinji Miyajima.         

Thomas and Barbara McKittrick Award: Takudzwa Tapfuma.        

Undergraduate Winners

AIA Wichita Falls Chapter Scholarship: Juhi Parikh.

Alpha Rho Chi Medal: Madeleine Pelzel.     

Association Administrators + Consultants Architecture Scholarship: Shree Kale. 

Berda and Charles Soon Chan Memorial Scholarship: Harish Krishnamoorthy.

Charles Tapley Award: Jiaye (Jessie) Li.        

Chillman Prize: Xinyu (Taylor) Li.      

Class of 1965 Scholarship in Architecture: Xinyue (Eva) Liu and Andrea Rubero.   

Edward B. Arrants Award: Andrew Bertics. 

Elinor Evans Centennial Fund: Yanela Diaz. 

Erin MacKenzie Peck Freshman Prize: Ezra Smith.  

Gene Hackerman Scholarship: Ziwei (Violet )Li and Si Yue (Stacy) Su.        

Henry Adams (AIA) School Medal: Lara Hansmann.

Hugh M. Cunningham Grant: Harish Krishnamoorthy.        

Linda Sylvan Fund for Architectural Education: Xinyu Chen.

Lonnie Hoogeboom Scholarship: Xinyu Chen.         

M.N. Davidson Fellowship: Amanda Spitzer.

Mary Ellen Hale Lovett Traveling Fellowship: Emma Brown, Emma Foster, Si Yue (Stacy) Su, Stephanie Tyler, Beril Uzmen, Zhaorui (Rita) Xiong, Jiaye (Jessie) Li, Caitlin Simcox, Xueyuan Wang,        Wenyu (Jadon) Jiang, and Wenyi Zheng.      

Michael Maraldo Sr., Southwest Terrazzo Association Architecture Scholarship: Anna Fritz.      

Mildred Crocker Staff Award: Samantha Ding.        

The Nunnelee Preceptorship Fund: Andrew Clifton, Phoebe Cox, Nell El Souri, Emma Foster, Sebastian Grande, and Shree Kale.         

Ralph S. Herman Memorial Scholarship: Beril Uzmen and Sydney Knight. 

Rosemary Watkin Barrick Traveling Fellowship: Ava Chen, Marlena Fleck, Natalia Koziel, and Hyun Sung (Kasen) Lee.  

Tau Sigma Delta Membership: Anna Fritz, Shree Kale, Amanda Spitzer, Kelly Si Yue Yu, and Emma Foster.         

Ziegler Cooper Award in Honor of Vivian Ziwei Guan: Daniela Ennis.          

The Rice Architecture Dean's Award, given in recognition of great work, leadership, and service, went to Lauren Kleinschmidt, director of finance and administration, Rice Architecture.




# # #


Apply Featured