Skip to main content


Within its extensive history, the William Ward Watkin Council has played an important role in the success of Rice Architecture.

This council has been a sounding board for the research and programs that strategically promote Rice Architecture with alumni, potential students, and faculty recruits. The William Ward Watkin Council offers a sounding board for the Dean and the School of Architecture at Rice University for issues ranging from internal programming to external relations. Council members serve as ambassadors of the school, promoting its strengths and expanding its purview.



2023–2024 William Ward Watkin Council

Jay Baker, M.Arch. '80

Principal, Jay Baker Architects

Katie Bennett, B.Arch. '03

Director, Thomas Phifer and Partners

David Calkins, B.Arch. '83

Regional Managing Principal, Gensler

Leslie Elkins Sasser

Principal, Leslie Elkins Architecture

Stephen Engblom, M.Arch. '96

Senior Vice President, AECOM

John Geresi

Senior Vice President, U.S. Bank

H. Ralph Hawkins, M.Arch. '76

Chairman Emeritus, HKS, Inc.

Melvin Hildebrandt, B.S. '56, Emeritus

Vice Chairman, Linbeck Group, LLC

Lonnie Hoogeboom, B.Arch. '94/M.Arch. '96

Director of Planning & Design, Central Houston, Inc.

Frank Kelly, B.Arch. '65

Architect, Planner, Stantec (retired)

Dillon Kyle

Principal, Dillon Kyle Architecture

Marley Lott

Partner, Baker Botts LLP (retired)

Allston Marble

Vice President and Senior Client Executive, Linbeck Group LLC


Bill McGregor, B.Arch. '65

President, The McGregor Company

Lela Nunnelee

Security, Pacific Corporation (retired)
Owner, Inspired Kitchen Cooking School (retired)

Itohan Osayimwese, M.Arch. '01

Chair and Associate Professor of the History of Architecture and Urban Studies, Brown University


Steve Radom

Managing Principal, Radom Capital

Dmitry Rakhlin

Managing Director, Goldman Sachs

Charles Renfro, B.Arch. '89

Partner, Diller Scofidio + Renfro


David Robinson, M.Arch. '93

Council Member, City of Houston

Rob Rogers, B.Arch. '83

Chair, William Ward Watkin Council, 
Rice University School of Architecture
Principal and Owner, Rogers Partners

Peter Rowe, M.Arch. '71

Raymond Garbe Professor of Architecture and Urban Design and Harvard University Distinguished Service Professor, Harvard University Graduate School of Design

Randhir Sahni, M.Arch. '71

President, Llewelyn-Davies Sahni

Chris Sanders, B.A. '97

Senior Product Designer, Apple

Phoebe Tudor



Apply Featured