Spring 2024
Jan. 11, 2024
10:15am to 5:30pm
MD Anderson Hall, Farish Gallery and Jury Room

The Rice Architecture 2024 Spring final thesis reviews are open to the public. Please join us to see the culmination of the work from our graduate thesis students.

Visiting and Parking Information


This semester, we look forward to welcoming guest reviewers Francisco Díaz (Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile) and Margarita Jover (Tulane University).

Francisco Díaz is an architect who received his M.Arch. from Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile in 2006. In 2013, he received his master of science degree in critical, curatorial, and conceptual practices in architecture (CCCP) from Columbia University, New York. He is a professor at the School of Architecture at Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile and is the editor in chief of Ediciones ARQ and ARQ Magazine. He has edited and published more than eighty books and sixteen magazine issues. In 2019 he authored the book Patologías Contemporaneas, published in Chile and Spain by Uqbar Editores and dpr-barcelona.

Margarita Jover received a M.Arch. degree from the Polytechnic University of Catalonia in 1995. Together with Iñaki Alday, she founded aldayjover architecture and landscape in 1996 in Barcelona, Spain. The multidisciplinary, research-based practice focuses on innovation and is particularly renowned for its leadership in a new approach to the relationship between cities and rivers, in which the natural dynamics of flooding become part of the public space. She is a tenured professor of architecture at Tulane University in New Orleans. Both in academic research and in practice, Jover promotes a broader understanding of architecture that aims to contribute to mitigate and reverse socioecological crises.


We will also be joined by internal reviewers Georgina BaronianShantel BlakelyJohn J. CasbarianJuan José CastellónScott ColmanAndrew ColopyDawn FinleyReto GeiserTroy SchaumMaggie Tsang, Brittany Utting, and Jesús Vassallo.


Thursday, January 11, Schedule:

Juchen “Ignis” Zhang, Andrew Colopy (Advisor)
10:15 a.m.—Jury Room

Anna Brancaccio, Brittany Utting (Advisor)
11:00 a.m.—Farish Gallery

Yufei Wang, Nathan Friedman (Advisor)
11:45 a.m.—Jury Room

12:30 p.m.—Lunch Break

Dante Rafael Gil Rivas, Juan José Castellón (Advisor)
1:30 p.m.—Jury Room

Paul DeFazio, Dawn Finley (Advisor)
2:15 p.m.—Farish Gallery

Nicole Yip, Maggie Tsang (Advisor)
3:00 p.m.—Jury Room

3:45 p.m.—Coffee Break

Alexander “Alec” Burran, Jesús Vassallo (Advisor)
4:00 p.m.—Jury Room

Isabelle Ndoumy-Kouakou, Scott Colman (Advisor)
4:45 p.m.—Farish Gallery

Apply Featured